Introducing ‘Shell Shocked Britain’: how war trauma casts a shadow across a century

pajohnston:

Really interesting blog on mental health and long-term psychological trauma following war.

Originally posted on No more wriggling out of writing ......:

Shell Shocked jacket high res jpeg I know that some readers of my blog (and thanks for that!) already know that throughout 2013 I was writing a book called Shell Shocked Britain commissioned by Pen & Sword History . We are now in the final edit stage, with proof-reading to come before it is finally published in October of this year, marking both the Centenary of the start of the First World War but also the month in which World Mental Health Day falls.

The publisher has given a sub-title to the book –  ‘The First World War’s Legacy for Britain’s Mental Health‘. I cannot argue, as it is exactly what the book is about.

I was thrilled when I was commissioned to write Shell Shocked; not simply because I got my first ever advance and felt truly ‘professional’ as a writer, but because I would have the opportunity to take the Great…

View original 1,007 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

